Opinion

Ferrari V12s, vinegar ice cream and dinner with Horacio Pagani
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

Ferrari V12s, vinegar ice cream and dinner with Horacio Pagani

Jethro enjoys a trip to supercar central and an audience with Mr Pagani
6 Dec 2022
‘I suppose we should be grateful for our contorted roads and gnarly tarmac’
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

‘I suppose we should be grateful for our contorted roads and gnarly tarmac’

Next time you drive, spare a thought for the road surface, says Meaden
22 Nov 2022
‘Brown Chords shot to fame in 1966, taking their place as one of Britain’s top eleven bands’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘Brown Chords shot to fame in 1966, taking their place as one of Britain’s top eleven bands’

Lost’ film footage of a 1960s band and their cars has Porter intrigued
8 Nov 2022
‘It looked sort of rubbish, but sort of incredible and impossibly esoteric’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘It looked sort of rubbish, but sort of incredible and impossibly esoteric’

Jethro’s bought a supersaloon. But you’ll never guess what it is…
25 Oct 2022
'There’s not so much difference between music and cars, is there?'
Dickie Header
Opinion

'There’s not so much difference between music and cars, is there?'

Rediscovering the joy of classic hi-fi has proved a revelation for Meaden
11 Oct 2022

Subscribe to evo magazine

Try 3 issues for just £5 + receive our subscriber-exclusive Great Roads poster book FREE!
'The most magnificent thing of all, it turns out, is a Bentley Mulsanne Speed'
Porter
Opinion

'The most magnificent thing of all, it turns out, is a Bentley Mulsanne Speed'

Porter finds himself moved (extremely rapidly) by a very British saloon
28 Sep 2022
'Does Ferrari make the most reliable cars in the world? I think it might.'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'Does Ferrari make the most reliable cars in the world? I think it might.'

Jethro ponders the notion that Ferraris might just be the most reliable cars in the world. Who'd have thought..?
6 Sep 2022
‘I long for a no‑holds-barred multi-discipline showdown between the very best racing drivers'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

‘I long for a no‑holds-barred multi-discipline showdown between the very best racing drivers'

Imagine Loeb and Ogier taking on Hamilton and Norris. Meaden can
23 Aug 2022
‘Be it EV, hybrid, restomod, reimagining or replica, the Thrill of Driving is all that counts’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘Be it EV, hybrid, restomod, reimagining or replica, the Thrill of Driving is all that counts’

Our world may be fragmenting, but some core values don’t change, says Jethro
9 Aug 2022
‘She gestured towards a double switch on the wall. “That switch,” she said. “I want to get rid of it.”’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘She gestured towards a double switch on the wall. “That switch,” she said. “I want to get rid of it.”’

Porter recounts a tale of home improvements that feels eerily familiar…
3 Aug 2022
‘I need to disconnect from my phone and reconnect with cars in a fresh and stimulating way’
Dickie Meaden opinion
opinion

‘I need to disconnect from my phone and reconnect with cars in a fresh and stimulating way’

Meaden vows to get more hands-on with cars. What could go wrong?
12 Jul 2022
‘It was as if Jesus himself had blessed Porsche with a new suspension system’
Jethro opinion header
Porsche

‘It was as if Jesus himself had blessed Porsche with a new suspension system’

The deifying of Porsche has left Jethro with a worrying affliction – Porsche fatigue
28 Jun 2022
‘The occupants of a Porsche 911 with the Jarvis Cocker Pack will find their trousers firmly anchored’
Richard Porter opinion
opinion

‘The occupants of a Porsche 911 with the Jarvis Cocker Pack will find their trousers firmly anchored’

Leather is overrated, reckons Porter. It’s time to embrace the corduroy
17 Jun 2022
‘There’s something joyful and juvenile about crate-engine culture’
Dickie Meaden opinion
opinion

‘There’s something joyful and juvenile about crate-engine culture’

Why is it only US car makers who offer crate engines, asks Meaden
31 May 2022
‘The NSX’s handling, despite the legend, I always found to be pretty damn spiky’
Jethro opinion header
Honda NSX

‘The NSX’s handling, despite the legend, I always found to be pretty damn spiky’

Bovingdon’s car-related inner database has just been shaken to its foundations
17 May 2022
‘The Porsche Taycan is a terrifically comfortable and able bit of kit, but as a sports car, I’m not so sure’
Porsche Taycan
Porsche Taycan

‘The Porsche Taycan is a terrifically comfortable and able bit of kit, but as a sports car, I’m not so sure’

A drive in a Taycan leaves Porter reflecting on The Meaning of Liff
4 May 2022
‘Tesla's yoke is a deliberate poke in the eye to people like us’
Tesla Model S yoke
Tesla

‘Tesla's yoke is a deliberate poke in the eye to people like us’

Reinventing the (steering) wheel is a delicate business, explains Meaden
12 Apr 2022
‘You rarely feel the urge to go looking for their ultimate talent because it’s hidden by others’
Jethro opinion header
opinion

‘You rarely feel the urge to go looking for their ultimate talent because it’s hidden by others’

The increased abilities of today’s cars could also be their undoing, thinks Jethro
29 Mar 2022
‘General Motors is a company that made a 7.5-litre V8 front-wheel drive coupe'
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘General Motors is a company that made a 7.5-litre V8 front-wheel drive coupe'

GM has built some quite brilliantly bonkers cars over the years, says Porter
15 Mar 2022
'I've discovered that a love of old tractors is a guilty pleasure concealed by lots of car people'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'I've discovered that a love of old tractors is a guilty pleasure concealed by lots of car people'

Meaden’s looking forward to life in the slow lane with his next purchase
1 Mar 2022
‘You will never need Lane Assist more than when trying to deactivate Lane Assist in a Volkswagen ID.3’
Jethro opinion header
Volkswagen ID.3

‘You will never need Lane Assist more than when trying to deactivate Lane Assist in a Volkswagen ID.3’

The issue with VW’s ID.3 isn’t that it’s an EV, says Jethro. It’s something else
15 Feb 2022
'A two-spoke steering wheel makes sense in a sports car: it gives you more places to wrap your fingers’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'A two-spoke steering wheel makes sense in a sports car: it gives you more places to wrap your fingers’

The revival of the two-spoke steering wheel is welcomed by Porter
2 Feb 2022
'Sounds have left imprints on my memory every bit as vivid as anything I've seen'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Sounds have left imprints on my memory every bit as vivid as anything I've seen'

The sounds of internal combustion will be greatly missed, says Meaden
18 Jan 2022
‘I’m daydreaming about a car tailor‑made for our appalling roads. Fluid, accessible and involving’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘I’m daydreaming about a car tailor‑made for our appalling roads. Fluid, accessible and involving’

Is it time for a rethink about what we want from the chassis of a driver’s car?
5 Jan 2022
‘I’d be all over Russian websites trying to pin down why KGB agents had Ladas with Wankel engines’
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

‘I’d be all over Russian websites trying to pin down why KGB agents had Ladas with Wankel engines’

Researching dull facts has led Porter to make an interesting discovery
21 Dec 2021
'I always feel a fizz excitement at putting a car key in my pocket, walking outside and driving away'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'I always feel a fizz excitement at putting a car key in my pocket, walking outside and driving away'

Meaden might think he’d fallen out of love with cars, but for one thing…
7 Dec 2021
‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘How do you qualify to own a McLaren 765LT? Just be rich. Zero talent required. Zero training’

Jethro feels that if manufacturers aren’t careful we could see the end of the very cars we love
23 Nov 2021
'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''
Richard Porter opinion
Opinion

'I wither inside when someone tells me their car is 'called Terry''

Ascribing human qualities to a car is just silly, says Richard. Unless it’s his Jaguar I-Pace
10 Nov 2021
'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lamborghini

'It's saddening to see the Countach name applied to such a cynical exercise'

Lamborghini’s ‘homage’ to the Countach sees Meaden in reflective mood
26 Oct 2021
'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

'Electric cars need more character, and there’s an obvious place to look for it'

The electric car struggles to offer the same thrills as our favourite combustion models, but Jethro reckons he has a solution
12 Oct 2021
'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Opinion

'Kei-cars like the super-sexy Honda Beat remain some of the most joyous road cars ever made'

What we need right now, says Meaden, is a kei-style framework for sports cars
28 Sep 2021
'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'
Porter
opinion

'The key to autonomous driving is obvious to anyone with half a brain'

Porter's a fly on the wall in a critical moment within the biggest automotive R&D's quest for autonomous driving success
14 Sep 2021
‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’
Jethro opinion header
Opinion

‘So the Mini GP3 is a hardcore, track-spec hot hatch yet it has an automatic gearbox. Who gets fired for this decision?’

The pandemic gave Angry Jethro some things he needs to get off his chest
31 Aug 2021
'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'
Dickie Meaden opinion
Lotus

'Every empty-headed EV start-up feels compelled to build a 2000bhp hypercar'

In a world gone power-mad, we need the next Elise more than ever, says Meaden
17 Aug 2021